Is Plug-In Solar Legal? State-by-State Guide (2026)

 

Six states now have plug-in solar frameworks in effect: Colorado, Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Utah and Vermont. Most allow qualifying output up to 1,200W; Colorado allows up to 1,920W. California, New Hampshire and Virginia begin their main provisions January 1, 2027; New Jersey follows March 1, 2027.

No utility approval does not mean no rules. Certification, installation, utility notice and landlord or HOA conditions vary by state. Use the tracker below to check your state, its effective date and what you need to do before connecting.

Plug-In Solar Legislation Tracker: Every State's Status, Wattage, and Effective Date

Enacted
Bill pending
Deferred / stalled
No framework yet
Loading map...
Click any state on the map for its current legislative status, maximum system wattage, and source. "Enacted" means a law has been signed; some enacted laws are not yet in effect (see effective date). A full data table is also available in the appendix at the end of this article.
Select a state
Click any state on the map to see its plug-in solar legislative status, maximum wattage, and original source.

How Plug-In Solar Works (and Why Regulations Matter)

Panels feed a compatible microinverter, which converts solar power for use in your home. A qualifying system can connect through a permitted receptacle setup and reduce the electricity you buy. Check the system's certification, the circuit and mounting requirements, and your state, utility and property rules before connecting it.

The 1,200W Threshold: What Most Laws Say

Most enacted pathways cap qualifying output at 1,200W; Colorado allows up to 1,920W. Each law defines how to measure and combine that output. A panel's DC wattage is not the same as AC inverter output. A higher panel rating alone does not settle whether a kit qualifies: check the law's output test and the certified equipment configuration.

States with Enacted Plug-In Solar Laws

Ten states have signed plug-in solar into law. Six have frameworks in effect as of October 15, 2026; four have main provisions beginning in 2027. States are listed alphabetically below.

California: Signed, effective January 1, 2027

California: Signed September 30, 2026. Effective January 1, 2027. Bill: SB 868.

Governor Newsom signed SB 868 on September 30, 2026. Beginning January 1, 2027, qualifying plug-in solar devices may have combined AC output of up to 1,200W per dwelling. They must meet the national and California electrical codes and be certified as a plug-in photovoltaic system by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab. The outage-isolation feature must also be certified. The utility may require simple registration, but not approval. The interconnection exemption ends January 1, 2030; separate sales restrictions start that day.

Sources: Environmental Working Group | Bill status (Digital Democracy)

Colorado: In Effect Since August 12, 2026; Additional Provisions January 1, 2027

Colorado: Signed May 7, 2026. General provisions effective August 12, 2026; sale and anti-restriction provisions effective January 1, 2027. Max output: 1,920W. Bill: HB 26-1007.

Governor Jared Polis signed House Bill 26-1007 into law on May 7, 2026, after it passed the House 48–16. The bill sets the highest wattage limit of any enacted state.

What the law allows:

  • Portable-scale solar generation output up to 1,920W, the highest cap in the country
  • No utility approval, no interconnection agreement, no fees for qualifying devices
  • Meter collar adapters, with the Public Utilities Commission required to update interconnection rules by December 31, 2026

The general framework took effect August 12, 2026. Qualifying devices must be labeled and listed by a nationally recognized testing lab. Starting January 1, 2027, devices with output above 391W cannot be sold, leased or rented unless UL labeled and listed. The law does not name a specific UL standard. Devices at 391W or less have narrow installation and wiring-alteration exceptions, not a blanket certification exemption. The anti-restriction and property protections also start January 1, 2027; reasonable notice, safety and placement rules remain.

Connecticut: In Effect Since October 1, 2026

Connecticut: Signed June 4, 2026. Effective October 1, 2026. Max output: 1,200W. Bill: HB 5340 (Public Act 26-127).

Governor Ned Lamont signed House Bill 5340 (Public Act 26-127) on June 4, 2026, as part of a broader renewable energy package.

What the law allows:

  • Portable solar photovoltaic output up to 1,200W
  • No utility approval, interconnection agreement, or fees for qualifying devices
  • Devices must be certified by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab AND meet UL 1741. They must also meet the State Building Code, NEC/NFPA 70 and IEEE 1547 requirements and include outage protection. Only one qualifying device may be used behind a meter. Check how your meter handles surplus generation: the law warns it may be charged as usage without a suitable meter.

Maine: Law in Effect

Maine: Signed April 6, 2026. Effective July 29, 2026. Max output: 1,200W. Bill: LD 1730 (P.L. Chapter 644).

Maine's bill LD 1730 passed on April 6, 2026.

What the law allows:

  • Eligible systems up to 1,200W combined inverter output
  • Up to 420W combined AC inverter output per service address, the law does not require the above-420W electrician and utility-notification process. Above 420W and up to 1,200W combined output, each system must be installed by a Maine-licensed electrician on a dedicated single-outlet circuit, with utility notice within 30 days. Systems must qualify through the law's UL 3700/applicable-standards route, a comparable testing-lab standard, or the adopted-NEC configuration route. That last route is about the equipment and wiring setup, not a certificate called NEC. People installing on property they do not own must protect the structure, follow codes and restore it on removal.

Maryland: Law in Effect Since July 1, 2026

Maryland: Signed May 12, 2026. Portable-solar provisions effective July 1, 2026. Max output: 1,200W. Bill: HB 1532 (Utility RELIEF Act).

Governor Wes Moore signed House Bill 1532 (the Utility RELIEF Act) on May 12, 2026, as an emergency bill; its portable-solar provisions took effect July 1, 2026.

What the law allows:

  • One portable solar energy generating system per residential meter, up to 1,200W
  • output
  • Connection via a standard electrical outlet
  • Notify the utility before installing and provide certification of the system's safety features and maximum output. The law exempts qualifying devices from utility approval and interconnection requirements, but requires certification by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab. It names neither UL 1741 nor UL 3700. Systems that send no more than 391W into a standard outlet are exempt from UL or equivalent testing-lab product-listing requirements that would require changes to the building, wiring or electrical panel. Check the exact kit's certification and your lease or HOA rules.

New Hampshire: Signed, Effective January 1, 2027

New Hampshire: Signed July 2, 2026. Effective January 1, 2027. Max output: 1,200W. Bill: SB 540-FN (Chapter 262).

Governor Kelly Ayotte signed Senate Bill 540-FN (Chapter 262) on July 2, 2026. Its main provisions take effect January 1, 2027; the building-code section has a separate standards-certification contingency.

What the law allows:

  • Portable solar generation devices up to 1,200W, output connected through a standard 120V receptacle
  • No utility approval, interconnection agreement, or fees for qualifying devices
  • Systems must be certified by a nationally recognized testing lab to national safety standards for distributed energy resources and plug-in solar systems. The final law does not say UL 1741 or IEEE 1547 alone is enough. Its main provisions start January 1, 2027. The separate building-code section starts only when the Department of Energy commissioner certifies that a nationally recognized standard exists for safe connection to a building's electrical system. This review has not confirmed that certification, so do not describe the code change as completed.

Utah: Law in Effect Since May 7, 2025

Utah: Signed March 25, 2025. Effective May 7, 2025. Max output: 1,200W. Bill: HB 340. First state to legalize plug-in solar.

Utah was the first state in the country to formally legalize plug-in solar. House Bill 340 (Solar Power Amendments) was signed by Governor Spencer Cox on March 25, 2025, and took effect May 7, 2025. It passed the Utah House 72–0 and the Senate 27–0 — truly unanimous bipartisan support.

What the law allows:

  • Systems up to 1,200W AC connecting via a standard 120V outlet
  • Qualifying devices are exempt from utility approval, interconnection agreements and related utility fees. The utility cannot demand extra controls or equipment beyond the device, but the device still needs UL or equivalent testing-lab certification, current NEC compliance and outage protection. The law does not name a specific UL standard in this device definition. Check local electrical and property rules.
  • Devices must be certified by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory and must include anti-islanding protection

Note: Utah plug-in solar systems are not eligible for Utah's net metering program. The benefit is bill reduction, not export credits.

Vermont: Law in Effect Since July 1, 2026

Vermont: Signed June 16, 2026. Effective July 1, 2026. Max output: 1,200W. Bill: S. 202 (Act 149).

Governor Phil Scott signed S. 202 (Act 149) into law on June 16, 2026.

What the law allows:

  • Plug-in photovoltaic devices up to a combined 1,200W output per electric meter
  • No utility approval, interconnection agreement, or fees for qualifying devices
  • Devices need UL 3700 or equivalent testing-lab certification, IEEE 1547-2018 or its successor, proper settings and secure attachment, and must connect through a smart meter. Customers with a net-metered system cannot add them. Tenants give at least 10 days' notice; landlords have 10 days to respond with reasonable restrictions. No response allows proceeding, but electrical work still needs landlord permission.

Virginia: Signed, Effective January 1, 2027

Virginia: Signed April 22, 2026. Effective January 1, 2027. Max output: 1,200W. Bill: HB 395 / SB 250 (Chapter 1052).

Virginia became one of the earlier states to legalize plug-in solar when Governor Abigail Spanberger signed House Bill 395 / Senate Bill 250 (Chapter 1052) into law on April 22, 2026.

What the law allows (effective January 1, 2027):

From January 1, 2027, qualifying devices are exempt from utility approval, interconnection agreements and related fees, but customers must notify the utility before installation. The utility has 15 days to review the form for accuracy and completeness and resolve deficiencies. Devices need testing-lab certification, NEC compliance and outage protection. Renter protection applies only to landlords owning more than four Virginia rental units or more than a 10% interest in more than four. Give seven days' notice with compliance documentation and the proposed location. Reasonable exterior-placement rules remain. Ratio-utility-billed units are excluded, and building, wiring or panel alterations need express written landlord approval. Check HOA or condo agreements too.

New Jersey

New Jersey: Signed September 1, 2026. Effective March 1, 2027. Max output: 1,200W. Bill: S2368 / A4836.

Starting March 1, 2027, qualifying devices may total up to 1,200W per service address or multifamily dwelling unit without utility approval. The law offers UL 3700, comparable-standard and combined-standard certification routes. Eligible renters who pay for their own electricity are protected within the area they rent, including a leased balcony or patio. Give the landlord and any applicable association 14 days' written notice, the location and proof of compliance. Reasonable size and placement rules, responsibility for damage and negligence-related claims remain. Building changes or electrical work can still need permits.

Sources: Legiscan A4836, LegiScan S2368

States Where Legislation Is Advancing in 2026

Massachusetts

Massachusetts: House passed 128–27; Senate passed its own version; conference committee reconciling. Bill: H 5175 / S 3143.

H 5175 (the House's version of "An Act Relative to Energy Affordability, Clean Power and Economic Competitiveness") passed the House 128–27 on February 26, 2026, with plug-in solar provisions capping systems at 1,200W and banning utility fees for qualifying devices. The Senate passed its own version (S.3143) on July 1, 2026. A conference committee is now reconciling the two versions before a final bill goes to Governor Healey's desk.

Source: Massachusetts Legislature

New York

New York: Passed both chambers late May 2026. Passed the Legislature; not yet law. No signature or effective calendar date verified. Bill: S8512C/A9111C (SUNNY Act).

The SUNNY Act (S8512C / A9111C), sponsored by Sen. Liz Krueger and Assembly Member Emily Gallagher, passed both chambers of the legislature in late May 2026 and is awaiting further action; the current official record does not show a signature or confirm a delivery date or signing deadline. As passed, the SUNNY Act would cover devices with no more than 1,200W aggregate continuous AC inverter nameplate output. The C-version text requires listing or certification by an accredited nationally recognized testing lab as a complete plug-in photovoltaic system, plus code and manufacturer-instruction compliance and outage/maintenance protection. Certificates for separate parts do not automatically meet that complete-system requirement. It would take effect 90 days after becoming law. The bill is not present permission to connect a system; check the final signed text and current utility requirements before installing.

Source: New York State Senate bill text

Rhode Island

Rhode Island: Companion bills pending in committee. Bills: H 7269 / S 2658.

Companion bills H 7269 and S 2658 remain pending in committee as of the most recent session activity. Rhode Island has some of the highest electricity rates in the country, making it a closely watched state for plug-in solar advocates.

Other States with Active Bills

Bills remain pending in committee, without recent movement toward a floor vote, in Delaware (SB 270, which as introduced would cap devices at 800W), Michigan (HB 5764), North Carolina (HB 1129 / SB 957), Ohio (HB 755), Pennsylvania (HB 1971), and Washington, D.C. (B26-0602).

States with Stalled or Defeated Bills

Bills in the following states were introduced in the 2026 session but stalled, died in committee, or were defeated, in alphabetical order:

  • Alaska (HB 257) — introduced but has not advanced.
  • Arizona (SB 1606) — stalled in committee.
  • Georgia (HB 1304) — held in committee without a vote in February 2026 after opposition from Georgia Power and the state's electric membership cooperatives; sponsors plan to reintroduce in 2027.
  • Hawaii (SB 2902 / HB 1644) — stalled; Hawaii's electricity rates are the highest in the country, so a future law here would be especially high-impact.
  • Idaho (HB 612) — stalled.
  • Illinois (SB 3104 / HB 4371 / HB 4516) — the Senate version stalled in committee in April 2026 after union opposition over lineworker safety concerns; sponsors plan to revisit the issue in a future session.
  • Indiana (SB 74 / HB 1084) — stalled in committee.
  • Iowa (HF 2046 / SF 2056) — companion bills introduced but not advanced.
  • Minnesota (HF 3555 / SF 3873) — folded into a broader omnibus bill; standalone progress has stalled.
  • Missouri (HB 2528 / HB 2444) — introduced but has not moved forward.
  • New Mexico (SB 157 / SM 10) — stalled.
  • Oklahoma (HB 4060) — passed the House 88–4 but stalled in the Senate.
  • Oregon (HB 4080) — did not move forward in the state legislature.
  • South Carolina (H 4579) — stalled.
  • Washington State (HB 2296) — passed the House 56–38 in February 2026, but the plug-in solar language was stripped before a larger bill passed.
  • West Virginia (HB 5648) — stalled.
  • Wyoming (HB 146) — voted down February 20, 2026.

Sources: The Current (Georgia), Capitol News Illinois, LegiScan, State of Wyoming Legislature, pv magazine USA, Bright Saver Legislation Tracker

States in the Regulatory Gray Area

Without a specific plug-in solar pathway, existing electrical, building and utility-interconnection rules may still apply. Do not treat the absence of a plug-in-specific ban, small size or zero-export operation as permission to connect. Before buying, ask the utility which process applies to the exact system and ask the local building or electrical authority about the proposed installation. This guide does not establish a nationwide enforcement-risk estimate.

What Is an Interconnection Agreement, and Do You Need One?

An interconnection agreement (ICA) is a contract between you and your utility that formally authorizes your system to operate in parallel with the grid. It establishes safety standards, metering requirements, and liability terms.

First check whether your state has a plug-in exemption and whether the exact system qualifies. An exemption may replace an interconnection agreement with a notice or registration process; it does not remove all safety or property rules. If the exemption does not apply, ask the utility's interconnection team which application, certificates, fees, inspections and permission-to-operate steps apply to your system. Processing times and study requirements vary. Do not assume a UL 1741 microinverter certificate or a zero-export setting alone establishes compliance of the assembled system. Check local electrical and building requirements before connecting.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is plug-in solar legal in the US?

The answer depends on your state, utility, equipment and installation. Some states have exemptions for qualifying plug-in systems; elsewhere, existing interconnection and safety rules may apply. A state law does not mean every kit or outlet is approved. Use the state notes and confirm current local and utility requirements.

What does "zero-export" mean and why does it matter?

Zero-export means the system is designed and controlled to prevent power from flowing onto the utility grid. It is different from shutting down during an outage. Do not assume an ordinary utility smart meter provides export control. Non-export operation does not automatically remove interconnection requirements; check the applicable state exemption and utility rules for the exact system.

Can I install two 1,200W systems to get 2,400W without an interconnection agreement?

Do not assume two separate kits each get their own allowance. California combines qualifying AC output per dwelling; Maine combines inverter output per service address; Vermont combines inverter capacity per meter. Colorado permits a single system per address, and Connecticut and New Hampshire limit the number of devices or systems behind a meter. A larger setup needs a separate check of the utility's interconnection process and local rules.

Do I need a building permit?

Permit requirements depend on the location, mounting, wiring work and state or local rules. An exemption from utility approval is not automatically a building or electrical permit exemption. Check with the local building or electrical authority before installing, including for a ground-mounted or balcony setup.

Can my landlord prohibit me from using plug-in solar?

Some plug-in laws expressly limit landlord or HOA bans, but the details differ. Vermont has a tenant-notice process and protections against prohibitive covenants. Colorado's anti-restriction rules start January 1, 2027; New Jersey's protections start March 1, 2027. Virginia's January 1, 2027 renter protection covers only certain landlords and leaves notice, placement and alteration limits. Other reviewed plug-in laws do not add an express landlord/HOA anti-ban provision. That does not settle rights under other laws. Check the state notes, your lease or association rules and required notice before installing.

What is the status of the UL 3700 certification?

UL Solutions announced its plug-in solar testing and certification program based on UL 3700 on January 8, 2026. UL 3700 addresses plug-in photovoltaic equipment and systems. State requirements differ: some expressly name UL 3700 or alternatives, Connecticut also expressly requires UL 1741 compliance, and other laws use testing-lab certification without naming a specific standard. Check the certificate for the exact product and evaluated setup. Certification of individual components is not automatic proof that an assembled kit meets a state's complete-system requirement.

Appendix: Full State-by-State Data Table

The table below lists every US state's plug-in solar legislative status, maximum system wattage, and key dates in one place. It reflects the same dataset used in the interactive map above and is sourced from original bill text where available.

Enacted-state and New York dates/status checked October 15, 2026. Other legislative entries retain their last recorded status; check the linked legislature source. Sourced from original bill text where available.
State Status Bill Max output Signed Effective Renter & Property Owner Rights Certification Requirements Utility Notification What this means
Alabama No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Alaska Deferred HB 257 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Arizona Deferred SB 1606 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Arkansas No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
California Enacted SB 868 1,200W (combined AC per dwelling) Sep 30, 2026 Jan 1, 2027 Not addressed in this law

Check your lease, HOA rules and local safety requirements. This law does not give renters or owners a new, express right to override those property rules.

Full system certification required

The system must be certified by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab. Its power-outage shutoff feature needs certification too. A box of certified parts is not automatically a certified system. The law does not name UL 3700.

Registration may be required (starts 2027)

From January 1, 2027, the utility may require simple online registration with the device's address, make, model and size. SB 868 does not set a before-or-after-installation deadline for that registration. Notification is not a request for approval: the utility cannot make its approval a condition of using a qualifying device. Check the utility's current registration instructions.

What this means for California

Size, timing and connection

Starting January 1, 2027, a home can use qualifying plug-in solar devices with a combined AC output of up to 1,200W. The utility cannot require an interconnection agreement, but it may ask you to register the device. This exemption ends January 1, 2030.

Certification and safety

The system must be certified by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab. Its power-outage shutoff feature needs certification too. A box of certified parts is not automatically a certified system. The law does not name UL 3700. The setup must also meet the national and California electrical codes.

Utility Notification

From January 1, 2027, the utility may require simple online registration with the device's address, make, model and size. SB 868 does not set a before-or-after-installation deadline for that registration. Notification is not a request for approval: the utility cannot make its approval a condition of using a qualifying device. Check the utility's current registration instructions.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

Check your lease, HOA rules and local safety requirements. This law does not give renters or owners a new, express right to override those property rules.

Colorado Enacted HB 26-1007 1,920W May 7, 2026 Aug 12, 2026 / Jan 1, 2027* Both, with limits (starts 2027)

From January 1, 2027, unreasonable bans or restrictions are not allowed. Owners may use certain areas reserved for their unit, subject to safety, cost and damage conditions. Reasonable notice and placement rules can still apply.

NRTL listing; UL sale rule above 391W

Choose a device labeled or listed by a nationally recognized testing lab. From January 1, 2027, devices above 391W sold, leased or rented must have UL labeling/listing. The law does not name a specific UL standard. The small-device exception does not remove every certification requirement.

Utility may require notice

The retail or wholesale electricity provider may require you to report that you are using a device and its size in kilowatts. The law does not specify a before-or-after-installation deadline. This is notice, not utility approval. Check your provider's reporting method and current instructions.

What this means for Colorado

Size, timing and connection

Colorado's main framework is already in effect. It covers one qualifying system per address, up to 1,920W. Do not connect more than one device to the same wall outlet.

Certification and safety

Choose a device labeled or listed by a nationally recognized testing lab. From January 1, 2027, devices above 391W sold, leased or rented must have UL labeling/listing. The law does not name a specific UL standard. The small-device exception does not remove every certification requirement.

Utility Notification

The retail or wholesale electricity provider may require you to report that you are using a device and its size in kilowatts. The law does not specify a before-or-after-installation deadline. This is notice, not utility approval. Check your provider's reporting method and current instructions.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

From January 1, 2027, people and associations cannot impose unreasonable bans or restrictions. Owners also gain rights to use certain areas reserved for their unit, with safety, cost and damage conditions. Reasonable notice and placement rules can still apply. Check local electrical rules and your property's requirements before installing.

Connecticut Enacted HB 5340 (PA 26-127) 1,200W Jun 4, 2026 Oct 1, 2026 Not addressed in this law

Check your lease and HOA rules before installing. This law does not add an express right to override them.

UL 1741 + NRTL certification

The device must meet the standards of UL 1741 and be certified by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab. Certification by another lab is allowed, but the law does not say another standard can replace UL 1741.

No utility notice specified in this law

The portable-solar provisions do not specify a utility-notification duty, deadline or form for a qualifying device. The utility cannot require prior approval or an interconnection agreement for the one qualifying device behind a meter. This is a statement about the reviewed law, not a claim that every other rule or meter arrangement has been checked. Ask the utility how your meter handles surplus power.

What this means for Connecticut

Size, timing and connection

Since October 1, 2026, one qualifying movable device up to 1,200W can connect behind each electricity meter.

Certification and safety

The device must meet UL 1741 AND be certified by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab. UL is a lab; UL 1741 is a standard. Another equivalent lab can certify it, but the law does not say another standard can replace UL 1741. An inverter certificate alone does not prove the whole setup meets the law. The device must also meet the electrical, grid-safety and building rules and shut off during an outage.

Before installing

Ask your utility how your meter handles extra power. With the wrong meter, electricity you send out can be counted as electricity you used, increasing your bill.

Utility Notification

The portable-solar provisions do not specify a utility-notification duty, deadline or form for a qualifying device. The utility cannot require prior approval or an interconnection agreement for the one qualifying device behind a meter. This is a statement about the reviewed law, not a claim that every other rule or meter arrangement has been checked. Ask the utility how your meter handles surplus power.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

Check your lease or HOA rules too; this law does not add an express right to override them.

Delaware Bill pending SB 270 800W (as introduced) — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Washington, D.C. Bill pending B26-0602 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Florida No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Georgia Deferred HB 1304 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Hawaii Deferred SB 2902 / HB 1644 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Idaho Deferred HB 612 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Illinois Deferred SB 3104 / HB 4371 / HB 4516 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Indiana Deferred SB 74 / HB 1084 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Iowa Deferred HF 2046 / SF 2056 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Kansas No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Kentucky No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Louisiana No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Maine Enacted LD 1730 (Ch. 644) 1,200W Apr 6, 2026 Jul 29, 2026 Not addressed; tenant duties apply

Check your lease and property rules. This law does not add an express right to override landlord or HOA restrictions. Renters must protect the building, follow codes and restore it when removing the system.

UL 3700 or comparable certification / electrical-code option

Maine allows several ways to qualify: UL 3700 and other applicable standards; a comparable standard from a nationally recognized testing lab; or a system set up to meet the National Electrical Code adopted by Maine's electrical licensing board. That last option is about the equipment and wiring setup, not a certification.

Above 420W: notify within 30 days after installation

For combined AC inverter output above 420W and up to 1,200W per service address, notify the transmission and distribution utility within 30 days after installation, using the commission-prescribed form. Include the service address, inverter capacity and a statement that the system complies with the law; the statute says the form may require more information. At 420W or less, this law does not impose that notification duty. Notice is not prior utility approval, and the utility may not deny a compliant installation.

What this means for Maine

Size, timing and connection

Maine allows qualifying systems with combined AC inverter output up to 1,200W per service address. Above 420W, each system must be installed by a Maine-licensed electrician on a dedicated circuit with a single outlet. Notify the utility within 30 days.

Certification and safety

Maine allows several ways to qualify: UL 3700 and other applicable standards; a comparable standard from a nationally recognized testing lab; or a system set up to meet the National Electrical Code adopted by Maine's electrical licensing board. That last option is about the equipment and wiring setup, not a certificate called NEC. Do not assume any kit qualifies. Inverters must stop supplying power within 0.2 seconds when power is disrupted.

Utility Notification

For combined AC inverter output above 420W and up to 1,200W per service address, notify the transmission and distribution utility within 30 days after installation, using the commission-prescribed form. Include the service address, inverter capacity and a statement that the system complies with the law; the statute says the form may require more information. At 420W or less, this law does not impose that notification duty. Notice is not prior utility approval, and the utility may not deny a compliant installation.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

Check your lease and property rules. The law does not add an express right to override landlord or HOA restrictions. Renters must protect the building, follow codes and restore it when removing the system.

Maryland Enacted HB 1532 (Utility RELIEF Act) 1,200W May 12, 2026 Jul 1, 2026 Not addressed in this law

Check your lease and HOA rules. This law does not add an express right to override them.

NRTL certification; no standard named

The device must be certified by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab. The law does not name a specific standard. Systems that send no more than 391W into a standard outlet are exempt from UL or equivalent testing-lab product-listing requirements that would require changes to the building, wiring or electrical panel.

Notify before installation

Before installing, notify the electric company serving the location. Also provide certification of the system's safety features and maximum generating capacity. The law requires the notice before installation but does not give a fixed advance-day window or specify a form in this clause. Qualifying systems do not need utility approval. Use current PSC and utility instructions; the notice and certification duties still apply.

What this means for Maryland

Size, timing and connection

Maryland allows one qualifying residential system up to 1,200W per meter. Tell the utility BEFORE installing it and provide certification of its safety features and maximum output.

Certification and safety

The device must be certified by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab. The law names neither UL 1741 nor UL 3700. We have not confirmed that a certificate for just the microinverter is enough for an assembled kit. Systems that send no more than 391W into a standard outlet are exempt from UL or equivalent testing-lab product-listing requirements that would require changes to the building, wiring or electrical panel.

Before installing

Check current Maryland PSC guidance and ask the utility how your meter handles surplus power.

Utility Notification

Before installing, notify the electric company serving the location. Also provide certification of the system's safety features and maximum generating capacity. The law requires the notice before installation but does not give a fixed advance-day window or specify a form in this clause. Qualifying systems do not need utility approval. Use current PSC and utility instructions; the notice and certification duties still apply.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

Check your lease and HOA rules; this law does not add an express right to override them.

Massachusetts Bill pending H 4744 / H 5151 / H 5175 1,200W (as passed by House) — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Michigan Bill pending HB 5764 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Minnesota Deferred HF 3555 / SF 3873 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Mississippi No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Missouri Deferred HB 2528 / HB 2444 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Montana No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Nebraska No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Nevada No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
New Hampshire Enacted SB 540-FN (Ch. 262) 1,200W Jul 2, 2026 January 1, 2027 Not addressed in this law

Check your lease and HOA rules. This law does not add an express right to override them.

NRTL system safety standards

The final law requires the system to be certified by a nationally recognized testing lab to safety standards for equipment that works alongside the grid and for plug-in solar systems.

Post-installation wattage notice may be required (starts 2027)

From January 1, 2027, the distribution utility may set up a method for you to report the system's wattage at your service address after installation. The statute sets no number-of-days deadline. It says this information is for notification only, not approval or an interconnection review. Check the utility's current reporting method. The separate building-code contingency remains a separate issue.

What this means for New Hampshire

Size, timing and connection

The main framework starts January 1, 2027. It covers one qualifying system per metered customer, with AC inverter output up to 1,200W.

Certification and safety

The final law requires the system to be certified by a nationally recognized testing lab to safety standards for equipment that works alongside the grid and for plug-in solar systems. It does not simply say a UL 1741 or IEEE 1547 certificate is enough. A separate building-code change starts only when the state's energy commissioner confirms that a national standard exists for safely connecting these systems to a building. We have not confirmed that this step has happened.

Before installing

Check current state energy and building-code guidance, follow the manufacturer's instructions, and ask the utility whether you must report the system's wattage after installation.

Utility Notification

From January 1, 2027, the distribution utility may set up a method for you to report the system's wattage at your service address after installation. The statute sets no number-of-days deadline. It says this information is for notification only, not approval or an interconnection review. Check the utility's current reporting method. The separate building-code contingency remains a separate issue.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

Check your lease and HOA rules; this law does not add an express right to override them.

New Jersey Enacted S 2368 / A 4836 1,200W Sep 1, 2026 Mar 1, 2027 Both, with limits (starts 2027)

From March 1, 2027, renters who pay their own electric service are protected within the area they rent, including a leased balcony or patio. Give the landlord and any applicable association 14 days' written notice, the location and proof of compliance. Reasonable size and placement rules remain. You may be responsible for damage and claims caused by your negligence; building changes or electrical work may still need permits.

UL 3700 / comparable / combined standards

The testing-lab listing or certification may use UL 3700, a comparable standard, or a combination of standards covering plug-in solar safety and operation alongside the grid. Devices at 400W or less get an exception for requirements involving changes to the building or wiring.

No utility notice specified in this law (starts 2027)

From March 1, 2027, the reviewed act does not specify a utility-notification duty, deadline or form for a qualifying device. It exempts the device from an interconnection agreement and prior utility approval. Do not confuse this with property notice: eligible renters must give the landlord and any applicable association 14 days' written notice with the location and compliance documentation. Check current utility implementation and meter instructions before installation.

What this means for New Jersey

Size, timing and connection

Starting March 1, 2027, qualifying devices can total up to 1,200W per service address or apartment unit.

Certification and safety

The testing-lab listing or certification may use UL 3700, a comparable standard, or a combination of standards covering plug-in solar safety and operation alongside the grid. The law does not confirm that a microinverter certificate alone is enough. Devices at 400W or less get only a narrow exception for requirements involving changes to the building or wiring.

Utility Notification

From March 1, 2027, the reviewed act does not specify a utility-notification duty, deadline or form for a qualifying device. It exempts the device from an interconnection agreement and prior utility approval. Do not confuse this with property notice: eligible renters must give the landlord and any applicable association 14 days' written notice with the location and compliance documentation. Check current utility implementation and meter instructions before installation.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

Renters who pay their own electric service are protected within the area they rent, including a leased balcony or patio. Give the landlord and any applicable association 14 days' written notice, the planned location and proof of compliance. Associations cannot impose bans, but reasonable size and placement rules remain. You can be responsible for damage and may have to cover certain claims caused by your negligence. Building changes or electrical work may still need permits.

New Mexico Deferred SB 157 / SM 10 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
New York Bill pending S 8512C / A 9111C (SUNNY Act) 1,200W (as passed) — — Not addressed in current bill

The bill is not yet law and adds no current permission to install. It does not propose an express right to override lease, landlord or HOA restrictions. Check the final signed law and your property's rules.

Proposed complete-system certification

Proposed, not current law: the passed C-version bill requires certification of the complete plug-in solar system by a nationally recognized testing lab. It does not name UL 3700 in that clause. Do not use the older B-version wording or assume certificates for individual parts certify the complete system.

Proposed: notify within 30 days after installation

If enacted unchanged, the C-version bill would require the owner to notify the electric corporation within 30 days after installation. The simple utility form would ask only for the customer's name and contact information, service address and utility account number, device make and model, and rated size. This would be notice, not prior approval. It is still a bill, not a current right to install; recheck the signed text and effective date before relying on it.

What this means for New York

Status and size

The SUNNY Act has passed the Legislature but is NOT yet law. It does not give you permission to connect a system today. If signed unchanged, it would start 90 days after becoming law; no calendar start date is confirmed. The proposed limit is 1,200W total continuous AC inverter nameplate output.

Certification and safety

The passed C-version bill requires certification of the complete plug-in solar system by a nationally recognized testing lab. It does not name UL 3700 in that clause. Do not use the older B-version wording or assume certificates for individual parts certify the complete system. The setup must also follow electrical codes and the manufacturer's instructions and include the required outage and maintenance protection.

Before installing

Check the final signed law, current utility requirements and your lease or HOA rules.

Utility Notification

If enacted unchanged, the C-version bill would require the owner to notify the electric corporation within 30 days after installation. The simple utility form would ask only for the customer's name and contact information, service address and utility account number, device make and model, and rated size. This would be notice, not prior approval. It is still a bill, not a current right to install; recheck the signed text and effective date before relying on it.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

The bill does not add an express right to override property restrictions.

North Carolina Bill pending HB 1129 / SB 957 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
North Dakota No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Ohio Bill pending HB 755 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Oklahoma Deferred HB 4060 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Oregon Deferred HB 4080 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Pennsylvania Bill pending HB 1971 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Rhode Island Bill pending H 7269 / S 2658 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
South Carolina Deferred H 4579 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
South Dakota No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Tennessee No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Texas No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Utah Enacted HB 340 1,200W Mar 25, 2025 May 7, 2025 Not addressed in this law

Check local electrical requirements, your lease and HOA rules. This law does not add an express right to override landlord or HOA restrictions.

NRTL certification; no standard named

The device must be certified by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab, meet the latest National Electrical Code, and stop supplying power during an outage.

No utility notice specified in this law

The portable-device provisions do not specify a utility-notification duty, deadline or form for a qualifying device. They exempt qualifying devices from interconnection requirements and utility approval. This does not erase the device's safety, electrical or property conditions. Check current utility and local instructions for the exact installation rather than treating statutory silence as permission for any kit.

What this means for Utah

Size, timing and connection

Utah's framework has been in effect since May 7, 2025. It covers qualifying movable devices up to 1,200W that use a standard 120V outlet. They are exempt from the utility interconnection-agreement process, but not from every electrical or property rule. These devices are outside Utah's net-metering program, so do not count on export credits.

Certification and safety

The device must be certified by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab, meet the latest National Electrical Code, and stop supplying power during an outage. This device definition does not name UL 1741 or UL 3700. The law does not confirm that an inverter certificate alone qualifies an assembled kit.

Utility Notification

The portable-device provisions do not specify a utility-notification duty, deadline or form for a qualifying device. They exempt qualifying devices from interconnection requirements and utility approval. This does not erase the device's safety, electrical or property conditions. Check current utility and local instructions for the exact installation rather than treating statutory silence as permission for any kit.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

Check local electrical requirements, your lease and HOA rules. This law does not add an express right to override landlord or HOA restrictions.

Vermont Enacted S. 202 (Act 149) 1,200W Jun 16, 2026 Jul 1, 2026 Both, with limits

Give your landlord at least 10 days' notice. The landlord has 10 days to respond with reasonable restrictions; no response lets you proceed, but electrical work still needs permission. The law also limits bans in deeds and property agreements. Shared areas, location and building safety still have limits.

UL 3700 or equivalent certification

Choose a device certified to UL 3700 or an equivalent certification by a nationally recognized testing lab. It must also meet IEEE 1547-2018 or a later replacement standard, use the right settings and be securely attached. It must connect through a smart meter. Customers with a net-metered system cannot add these devices.

No utility notice specified in this law

The reviewed plug-in provisions do not specify a utility-notification duty, deadline or form for a qualifying device. They remove utility approval and interconnection-agreement requirements. The smart-meter and other device conditions still apply. Landlord notice is separate: tenants must give at least 10 days' notice, and electrical work still needs landlord permission. Check current utility instructions and meter eligibility.

What this means for Vermont

Size, timing and connection

Vermont allows one or more qualifying devices with combined inverter capacity up to 1,200W per meter.

Certification and safety

Choose a device certified to UL 3700 or an equivalent certification by a nationally recognized testing lab. It must also meet IEEE 1547-2018 or a later replacement standard, use the right settings and be securely attached. It must connect through a smart meter. Customers with a net-metered system cannot add these devices.

Utility Notification

The reviewed plug-in provisions do not specify a utility-notification duty, deadline or form for a qualifying device. They remove utility approval and interconnection-agreement requirements. The smart-meter and other device conditions still apply. Landlord notice is separate: tenants must give at least 10 days' notice, and electrical work still needs landlord permission. Check current utility instructions and meter eligibility.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

Give your landlord at least 10 days' notice. The landlord has 10 days to respond with reasonable restrictions; no response lets you proceed, but electrical work still needs the landlord's permission. The law also limits bans in deeds and property agreements, including for patio railings. It does not give unlimited use of shared areas. Check the location, building safety and property conditions first.

Virginia Enacted HB 395 / SB 250 (Ch. 1052) 1,200W Apr 22, 2026 Jan 1, 2027 Limited renter protection; HOA rules preserved

From January 1, 2027, renter protection applies only to certain landlords owning more than four Virginia rental units, or more than a 10% interest in more than four. Give seven days' notice with documentation and location. Units whose electricity charges are split among tenants through a ratio utility-billing system are excluded. Building or electrical alterations need written landlord approval. Reasonable placement rules and private HOA or condo agreements still apply.

NRTL certification; no standard named

The device needs certification by a nationally recognized testing lab, electrical-code compliance and outage protection. The law does not name a specific certification standard. The SCC form gives UL 3700 and UL 1741 as examples, not approval of a particular kit. An inverter certificate alone is not confirmed as sufficient. The 391W exception is narrow, not a general certification waiver.

Notify before installation; 15-day review (starts 2027)

From January 1, 2027, submit the SCC-established form to the electricity provider online or by mail before installation. The provider has 15 days after notice to check accuracy and completeness and respond to resolve deficiencies. If it does not respond within 15 days, the notification requirement is treated as met and you may install. This is a notice-completeness review, not discretionary utility approval. Use the current SCC form for its required fields; the statute does not list all form fields here.

What this means for Virginia

Size, timing and connection

Starting January 1, 2027, qualifying devices can total up to 1,200W per customer or apartment unit. Tell the utility before installation; it has a 15-day review window.

Certification and safety

The device needs certification by a nationally recognized testing lab, electrical-code compliance and outage protection. The law does not name a specific certification standard. The SCC form gives UL 3700 and UL 1741 as examples, not approval of a particular kit. An inverter certificate alone is not confirmed as sufficient. The 391W exception is narrow, not a general certification waiver.

Utility Notification

From January 1, 2027, submit the SCC-established form to the electricity provider online or by mail before installation. The provider has 15 days after notice to check accuracy and completeness and respond to resolve deficiencies. If it does not respond within 15 days, the notification requirement is treated as met and you may install. This is a notice-completeness review, not discretionary utility approval. Use the current SCC form for its required fields; the statute does not list all form fields here.

Renter & Property Owner Rights

Renter protection applies only to certain larger landlords: those owning more than four Virginia rental units, or more than a 10% interest in more than four. Give seven days' notice with documentation and location. Reasonable exterior-placement rules remain. The protection does not cover units whose electricity charges are split among tenants through a ratio utility-billing system. Building or electrical alterations need express written landlord approval, and private HOA or condo agreements still apply.

Washington State Deferred HB 2296 (2026) — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
West Virginia Deferred HB 5648 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Wisconsin No framework None identified — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.
Wyoming Deferred HB 146 — — — Not reviewed Not reviewed Not reviewed Rights and certification requirements have not been reviewed for this entry. Check the current law and property rules before installing.

Back to blog

Leave a comment